down arrowMenu

Graduate College

Internal Awards & Recognition

Congratulations to the 2017 Graduate College Faculty Award Winners!

The James F. Lubker Research Award honors a faculty member with five years of service at UNI and exceptional original contributions to research and scholarship, including the creative and performing arts.

  • The 2017 winner is Dr. Tammy Gregersen, Professor of Languages and LiteraturesDr. Gregersen earned her PhD in Linguistics at Catholic University, Valparaiso, Chile. Her research interests are in applied linguistics: in particular, she delves into the interrelationship between language and psychology, sociology, education, culture, and communications.  At UNI since 2003, she has published four books, fourteen book chapters and twenty-two peer reviewed journal articles.  She has also acquired 13 grants.

The Distinguished Scholar Award honors senior scholars and artists with a long and distinguished record of publications, exhibits and/or creative activities while a member of the UNI faculty and whose professional reputation is national (and international where appropriate).

  • The 2017 winner is Dr. David G. SurdamProfessor of Economics
    Dr. Surdam earned his PhD in Economics from the University of Chicago. His research interests include the American Civil War and the economics of professional sports leagues. Since joining UNI in 2005, he has published 8 books (and has another under contract), as well as 19 peer-reviewed journal articles and numerous book chapters.